Strangest Thing I’ve Eaten Lately: Soft Chicken Bones

I had Japanese Yakitori for dinner last night and one of the menu options was “Soft Chicken Bones” (“kappa”). So I thought – sign me up.

It took ages to prepare but eventually a plate with two skewers arrived. Each had five pieces of slighly charred cartilage from a chicken’s breast bone.

It was almost tasteless and had a slight crunchy texture – like dried out rubber. It took a while to chew through and then I spent much of the rest of the evening picking what felt like very small pieces of plastic out of my teeth.

In summary – good for the omnivore cred but otherwise not worth recommending. I think this is a shrewd way to get people to pay for something the restaurant would otherwise throw out.

One thought on “Strangest Thing I’ve Eaten Lately: Soft Chicken Bones

  1. I wonder what the nutrition breakdown on these is. (Would you believe the USDA does not have an entry for “chicken cartilage”?) I understand from Nourishing Traditions that they are high in glucosamine and chondroitin. The way I usually “eat” them is to let them dissolve in the stockpot.

Leave a Reply

