Top 10 Problems with Eating Real Food

Dropping carbs and processed foods is no picnic.

  1. I have to shop for food more frequently. Real food is perishable. I can’t bear planning out meals in advance (I’m a creative “go with the flow” kind in the kitchen) so I seem to find myself at the grocery store at least once every two days.
  2. I seem to lose more food to spoilage. The other cost of perishable food (+poor planning) is that, sometimes, I can’t get around to eating something before white fuzzy growths appear.
  3. My fridge is too full. Occasionally I have an “Inbox Zero” moment with my fridge when I’ve managed to use every last available ingredient in a desperate attempt to avoid another trip out. But it seems like, for the most part, the thing is way too full and I have no idea what’s more than 8 inches deep.
  4. Cooking is time consuming. I like cooking so this isn’t such a huge burden. But I spend way more time chopping, searing and stirring than is considered normal in our modern world of microwave dinners. And washing up is really a drag.
  5. I’ve become the office geek with the packed lunch. Although I can occasionally go out to grab some roast duck at the local hawker center (an outdoor food court), there is not much in the way of decent lunch options by my office. While I’m proud of my little bento box creations, I’m not deluded. The rest of the world knows I’m a freak.
  6. I’ve become slightly anti-social. Avoiding carbs makes eating out a bit more challenging and although my friends are happy to avoid the noodle joints on my behalf, I feel a bit bad that they need to accommodate me. So I eat in a lot more than I used to.
  7. Sometimes you have to suck it up. Suck it up is my term for “eating crap when the social situation requires it.” You just can’t always be a food Nazi. Sometimes you just have to gracefully swallow.
  8. You need to fork out for new clothes. If you are overweight before changing your diet, it is very likely you find yourself dropping pant sizes and eventually this requires either opening the skinny clothes box from circa 1985 or heading out to shop. I’m starting to suspect that the 80’s look is coming back because more and more people are doing low-carb.
  9. People keep telling me I’m going to kill myself. As soon as you up your fat and red meat intake, everyone’s alarm bells go off. You then get to hear all the conventional wisdom on the subject and need to consider whether to, yet again, try to explain everything that’s wrong with old school thinking.
  10. You have to explain a lot. While I’m working on making my eating habits as inconspicuous as possible, eventually you get called on it, or you can no longer bear watching a loved one engage in “death on the donut instalment plan” and you’re raving again. OK I call it intelligent discourse but you can see that look in their eyes.

Certainly some of these problems can be avoided by better planning. But some just come with the territory.

This list is not exhaustive. Definitely the increased cost of food may also pose an issue for some people… I am fortunate enough that time, more than money, is my major concern.

Learning to cope and minimize the challenges of eating real food seems key to ensuring long term success.

The real question seems to be, given all this, how long can I eat outside societal norms?

So far, so good.
I’ll keep you posted.

Back to the roast meat stall for lunch…
Roast Meat Stall
Photo By Hendrian

One thought on “Top 10 Problems with Eating Real Food

  1. Oh, I wish I had one of those outside my office!

    I hear you about people’s advice. Yesterday a rather rotund gentleman of my acquaintance asked me, out of the blue, my favorite question. “Dianne, have you lost weight?” Since I’m still getting over the stomach flu (yes, again – so much for low-carb strengthening the immune system), I said, “Yes, about 25 lbs, but 5 of those were in the last three days.”

    I was really hoping he’d ask me how. I want to be an evangelist, but I don’t thrust my opinions on people who don’t ask. Instead, he said. “Well, just stay away from those high fat foods, and those last five pounds will stay off, too.”

    I couldn’t bring myself to utter the L-C words, so I just said, “Actually, I’m just concentrating on whole, fresh, homemade foods and staying away from sugar.” I also wanted to say, “Look, bub, just which of us has lost 25 lbs here, you or me?” But how can you be rude to someone who is giving you a compliment?

Leave a Reply

