Blogged Recipes

I’m the type that has a shelf full of cookbooks but the minute I need to make something I’m asking Google for a recipe.

But even better that Googled recipes are the ones that land in my RSS reader each week from my favorite blogs. It’s almost as good as getting the recipe from a friend.

Recipes from blogs are tried and tested and brought to you with that special ingredient: luuurve. Plus in an active blog, the comments section is often full of ideas for variations and refinements.

And now to make it even easier, there is a search engine just for blog recipes: Food Blog Search

Crustless Quiche Extraordinaire
As we’re talking blog recipes, my personal all time fave low-carb recipe is this one via Low Carb Dude‘s Blog: Low Carb Crustless Crab Quiche

This is a to die for butterball of a recipe. It melts in the mouth. Warning: it is probably best not to serve these to friends who still think fat is the enemy or they will accuse you of attempted homicide.

8 eggs, slightly beaten
1 cup crab meat (real not imitation)
½ cup heavy cream
½ cup butter, melted
1 cup shredded cheese
½ cup grated parmesan cheese
¾ cup diced yellow onion
1 teaspoon garlic powder
½ teaspoon chopped fresh dill weed
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon black pepper

 
Combine ingredients in a deep 9-inch round baking dish. Cover and bake at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes until eggs are set. Remove cover and let the top brown slightly. Serves 6.

 
Instead of making one big quiche, I bake two dozen small muffin sized quiches. These keep in the fridge for at least a week and are quickly reheated in the microwave. They are luscious.

In fact, I made some today…

A Little Quiche

4 thoughts on “Blogged Recipes

  1. Oh, I’m always looking for portable breakfast foods. Truth be told, I am such a slug in the morning (which shows that LC does not cure everything) that I often don’t have time for breakfast. For about 2 months I was boiling a dozen eggs every Sunday night. But during the last two weeks of that I noticed that I was bringing my eggs home, uneaten, every night. Time for a change.

    And I’m about to go to the market.

    ::adds crabmeat to her list::

  2. Heh. I analyzed this on NutritionData today – 76% of calories from fat, 21 g of saturated fat, 22 g of protein, only 3 g of non-fiber carbs. High in Vitamin A, B vitamins, Vitamin K, and folate. Even small amounts of Vitamins C and D.

    It’s only drawbacks are that it’s a bit high on the omega-6 (but NutritionData probably doesn’t account for my omega-3 eggs and pastured cream), and it’s low in magnesium (but what isn’t?). Otherwise, it’s practically the perfect food.

    But yes, feed this to your low-fat friends, and there will be a warrant out for your arrest.

Leave a Reply

